Category: Oceania

Vanuatu geography
The Republic of Vanuatu is a state in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. Vanuatu is located west of Fiji and belongs to the area of Melanesia. The archipelago, which consists of around 83 islands and archipelagos, includes the archipelago of the New Hebrides. The closest neighboring state is the Solomon Islands, about 170 kilometers north of Vanuatu. The total area of ​​Vanuatu covers a total of almost 12,200 square kilometers.

The 83 islands of Vanuatu are scattered over an area of ​​around 1,300 kilometers in the sea. Seen from above, the islands line up like a gigantic Y. The largest islands in the archipelago areEspiritu Santo with 3,626 square kilometers, Malakula with 1,994 square kilometers, Efate with 980 square kilometers and Erromango with 900 square kilometers. The capital Port Vila is on the island of Efate. The Tabwemasana, located on the island of Espiritu Santo, is the highest mountain in Vanuatu at 1,877 meters.
Of the 83 islands, most of which are of volcanic origin, only 67 are inhabited. The volcanoes on Vanuatu are still active. For example, the location on the island of Tanna volcano Mount Yasur and the V ulkan Lombenben on the island of Ambae, which was last active in 2005. The archipelago is repeatedly shaken by earthquakes, most recently in 1999 and 2002. Each of the two earthquakes triggered a tsunami. For more information about the continent of Oceania, please check