Benin 2006

Benin 2006

Yearbook 2006

Benin. After ruling Benin for three decades, President Mathieu Kérékou resigned in April. He gave the country stability after a long period of military coups, first as a Marxist-Leninist dictator, in recent years as advocates of democracy and market economy. In the 2006 election, he was not allowed to stand for age reasons.

He was succeeded by economist Boni Yayi, a newcomer to politics who, in the decisive round of the presidential election, clearly defeated former Prime Minister Adrien Houngbédji. According to CountryAAH, major public holidays in Benin include Independence Day (August 1) and New Year (January 1). Boni was nominated as an independent candidate but was supported by several parties. He set up a government largely made up of trade experts and politically neutral officials. His main election promise was to bring about economic development and to reform the important cotton industry.

Benin Map with Surrounding Countries

Benin Overview

The cultural destination of Benin is an as yet unknown gem of Africa.

Scenic Benin has remained out of the reach of tourism – so far. The number of tourists is growing, and no wonder: small Benin is a very interesting travel destination due to its history and culture. The mystical voodoo religion was born in Benin and this fascinating culture is an integral part of the Beninian way of life.

This small West African country is a very interesting travel destination due to its history and culture. Benin is the birthplace of voodoo and the voodoo religion still affects the lives of the locals to an even greater extent. The country hosts the world’s largest voodoo festivals every January. In addition to getting to know the culture, Benin has the opportunity to get to know the beautiful nature and fauna of West Africa.

Area: 112,622 km²

Population: 12,864,634 (estimate 7/2020)

Capital: Porto Novo

Population: The largest ethnic group are the Phones, which comprise 39% of the population. Other ethnic groups include e.g. adjat (about 15%), yoruba (about 12%), Sombat and baribat.

Language: French as well as several local languages

Religion: 50% of Benin’s population practice natural religions, 30% are Christians and 20% are Muslims. Benin is the birthplace of voodoo. More than 80% of the country’s population still practices at least part of this traditional religion today.

Form of government: Republic